All members of the media are encouraged to work through the Office of Communications and Public Relations for assistance in obtaining faculty interviews, expert sources, or information about the people, programs and projects at CNU.

Accounting, Economics and Finance | Biology, Chemistry and Environmental Science | Communication StudiesEnglish | Fine and Performing Arts | Government | History | Leadership and American Studies | Management, Marketing & Business Law | Mathematics | Modern and Classical Languages | Philosophy and Religious Studies
| Physics, Computer Science and Engineering | Psychology | Social Work | Sociology and Anthropology

Accounting, Economics & Finance

Name Specialties Phone Email
Lingenfelter, Gabriele

Individual income tax, volunteer income tax assistance program, innovative teaching strategies, AICPA's Core Competencies

(757) 594-7142 gabriele@cnu.edu
Frucot, Veronique

Cross-cultural issues in accounting, related to budgetary participation and auditor independence, pedagogical issues in accounting - factors affecting performance of accounting students

(757) 594-7146 vfrucot@cnu.edu
Taylor, Travis K.

International government procurement and contracting, defense economic issues, offsets contracts

(757) 594-7148 ttaylor@cnu.edu
Vachris, Michelle A.

Public choice economics, teaching pedagogy, international economics

(757) 594-7719 mvachris@cnu.edu
Winder, Robert C.

Financial institutions, monetary theory and policy, macroeconomic policy and trends

(757) 594-7004 rwinder@cnu.edu

Back to top

Biology, Chemistry and Environmental Science

Name Specialties Phone Email
Grau, Harold J. Human anatomy and physiology, animal physiology, vertebrate anatomy (757) 594-7946 hgrau@cnu.edu
Abdel-Fattah, Tarek M. Inorganic chemistry, materials synthesis and characterization, Nanotechnology, environmental remediation, catalysis (757) 594-7606 fattah@cnu.edu
Cheney, Richard W., Jr. Biology, genetics (757) 594-7064 rcheney@cnu.edu
Klein, Geoffrey C. Analytical chemistry, environmental chemistry, analysis of complex mixtures, crude oils, mass spectrometry (757) 594-7477 geoffrey.klein@pcs.cnu.edu

Young, Philip

Polymer characterization/analytical chemistry of polymers, polymer materials in low-earth orbit, environmental effects, instrumental methods of analysis

(757) 594-7122

pyoung@cnu.edu

Back to top

Communication Studies

Name

Specialties

Phone

Email

Best, Mary D. Professional public presentations, overcoming speech anxiety, business and dining etiquette, sexual harassment awareness (757) 594-8769 mdbest@cnu.edu
Manning, Linda Relational communication, family communication and friendship communication, family roles, rules and rituals, how families are formed and maintained through international adoption, communication and friendship, how friendships evolve through the life span, cross-sex friendship, and the role of social media on friendship. (757) 594-7683 lmanning@cnu.edu

Meyer, Michaela D. E.

Identity, sexuality, emerging adulthood, popular culture, television and film, interviewing, gender

(757) 594-7495

mmeyer@cnu.edu

Back to top

English

Name

Specialties

Phone

Email

Filetti, Jean S. Professional and technical writing, grant writing, American literature from 1850-1920 (757) 594-7954 filetti@cnu.edu
Keeling, Kara K. Children's and adolescent/young adult (YA) literature, childhood/children's studies (interdisciplinary approach to studying children's culture) (757) 594-7952 kkeeling@cnu.edu
Lee, Terry Narrative journalism, approaches to literature, gender theory: masculinity, British and American Literature, news reporting and writing (757) 594-7686 tlee@cnu.edu
Marinova, Margarita World literature, European and East-European literature, Russian Literature, exile literature, travel literature, literary theory, East European cinema, Russo-American relations (757) 594-7032 margarita.marinova@cnu.edu
Mulligan, Roark American literature (1865-1940), teaching writing/composition (757) 594-7685 mulligan@cnu.edu
Nichols, John G. American film; film history and criticism, early 20th-century American literature and drama (757) 594-8896

jnichols@cnu.edu

Paul, Jay Poetry, creative writing, accreditation (Commission on Colleges) (757) 594-7072 jpaul@cnu.edu
Rosenberg, Roberta Multicultural American literature, pedagogical approaches to multicultural American literature for K-12 teachers, film and culture; race, class and ethnicity in American literature, women's studies (757) 594-7149 rrosenb@cnu.edu
Rowley, Sharon M. Old English language and literature, Middle English language and literature, Arthurian literature, manuscript studies, vision literature/apocalyptic literary theory (757) 594-8874 srowley@cnu.edu

Back to top

Fine and Performing Arts

Name Specialties Phone Email
Gillman, Denise Theater, direction, arts administration, science plays (research) (757) 594-7262 dgillman@cnu.edu
Harris, Christi Printmaking, painting, drawing, figure drawing (757) 594-7089 237442@cnu.edu
Hillow, George Scene design, stage lighting, directing, cinema (757) 594-8897 hillow@cnu.edu

Back to top

Government

Name Specialties Phone Email
Busch, Nathan E. International security, U.S. foreign policy, WMD proliferation, arms control, international terrorism (757) 594-8498 nbusch@cnu.edu
Carlson, Peter M. Criminal justice, federal courts, capital case prosecutions, public administration, prison and jail administration, political science, leadership (757) 594-7874 pcarlson@cnu.edu
Green, Gary Job crime, "white collar crime", federal sentencing guidelines for organizations (757) 594-8733 ggreen@cnu.edu
Kempin Reuter, Tina International relations, comparative politics, international law, human rights, genocide, international criminal law, international humanitarian law (law of war), ethnic conflict, international conflict, peace studies (757) 594-7821 tina.kempin@cnu.edu
Kidd, Quentin American politics, Southern politics, Virginia politics (Hampton Roads), civic involvement and leadership, political behavior (757) 594-8499 qkidd@cnu.edu
Mendham, Matthew The Enlightenment, the rise of modern capitalism, utopianism (757) 594-7066 matthew.mendham@cnu.edu

Back to top

History

Name Specialties Phone Email
Connell, William F. Mexico and Latin America, with research on the 16th and 17th centuries and modern issues (757) 594-7362 wconnell@cnu.edu
Duksin, Eric Geographic fields of Russia, Soviet Union, Central Asia and Europe, Western and world civilization, European culture and civilization, Cold War, post-socialist transition and development, film and gender studies (757) 594-7121 eduskin@cnu.edu
Falk, Andrew J. Culture and society, politics, history, popular culture (757) 594-7567 falk@cnu.edu
Hamilton, Phillip Virginia history, U.S. history, early republic to Civil War, American slavery (757) 594-7251 phamilt@cnu.edu
Puaca, Brian M. Modern Germany/postwar Germany, postwar European history, democratization, military occupation, history of education (757) 594-7225 bpuaca@cnu.edu
Puaca, Laura M. Women's history, feminism, women and social movements, gender and science, gender and the American South, history of education (757) 594-8879 laura.puaca@cnu.edu
Sellars, Nigel A. American labor history, especially the Industrial Workers of the World (WWI), rebellions and uprisings in American history, American presidency, 1918 influenza pandemic, Great Depression, the 1960s and Vietnam, fascist movements in America, Socialist Party of America, 20th Century American popular culture: films, folk and popular music, pulp magazines, science fiction writers, radio broadcasts; Sports, especially late 19th and early 20th century baseball and ice hockey, British and Irish folk music (757) 594-7077 nsellars@cnu.edu
Sishagne, Shumet African history, history of the Middle East, history of Islam, Ethiopian History, contemporary Third World issues (757) 594-7118 sishagne@cnu.edu
Xu, Xiaoqun China (757) 594-7393 xxu@cnu.edu

Back to top

Leadership and American Studies

Name Specialties Phone Email
Colvin, Robert E. Leadership (757) 594-7972 rcolvin@cnu.edu
Heuvel, Sean M. American Civil War and Reconstruction, U.S. military history, higher education (757) 594-7731 sheuvel@cnu.edu

Back to top

Management, Marketing and Business Law

Name Specialties Phone Email
Bardwell, Stephanie Law, regulatory and ethical issues, small-business consulting, small-business assistance issues (757) 594-7139 bardwell@cnu.edu
Donaldson, William Strategic planning, management development, growth capital, technology commercialization, family business dynamics and transitions (757) 871-6809 svpwilly@gmail.com
Hasbrouck, Robert Operations management, supply chain management, management science, simulation modeling (757) 594-7174 rhasbro@cnu.edu
Pringle, Pam Critical and creative thinking in individual and team settings - how do we make decisions and identify creative solutions to issues, team building, developing business plans (757) 594-7055 ppringle@cnu.edu
Spiller, Lisa Marketing, including promotion, retail, and consumer behavior, interactive marketing, database marketing, direct marketing, entrepreneurship and small business (757) 594-7099 lspiller@cnu.edu
Shaltayev, Dmitriy Supply chain management, inventory management, operations management, statistics (757) 594-8914 dmitriy.shaltayev@cnu.edu

Back to top

Mathematics

Name Specialties Phone Email
Bradie, Brian Numerical analysis/scientific computing, mathematical modeling, probability and statistics, biomedical signal processing (especially EKG), wavelets (757) 594-7944 bbradie@pcs.cnu.edu
Khalili, Parviz Differential and difference equations, real analysis (757) 594-7037 pkhalili@pcs.cnu.edu

Back to top

Modern and Classical Languages

Name Specialties Phone Email
Adamitis, Jana Ancient Latin literature, ancient Roman culture, ancient Greek literature and culture (757) 594-7057 jadam@cnu.edu
Deiulio, Laura German language and culture (757) 594-7062 ldeiulio@cnu.edu
Miller, Elaine M. Latin American literature and culture (757) 594-7489 emiller@cnu.edu
Pollio, David M. Classical Greek and Latin, Vergil's "Aeneid," Homer’s "Iliad" and "Odyssey," the American classical tradition, Greek and Roman mythology (757) 594-7493 david.pollio@cnu.edu
Velardi, Danielle L. Business Spanish, Spain, Moorish legacy in Andalusia, literature of Spain, Hispanics in the U.S., culture of Spain (757) 594-7107 dcahill@cnu.edu

Back to top

Philosophy and Religious Studies

Name Specialties Phone Email
Hutchinson, Dawn African-American religions, American religious history, contemporary Gnosticism, new religious movements (cults); a course in miracles, Christian Science, Nation of Yahweh, Scientology, Unification Church, Wicca (757) 594-8795 dhutchin@cnu.edu
Rose, Kenneth Issues in religious pluralism, religion and philosophy, comparative religion, history of religions, mysticism, meditation, Christian and Hindu dialogue, comparative theology (757) 594-7965 krose@cnu.edu
Schweig, Graham Comparative religion, comparative theology, Sanskrit and Indic studies, Hinduism and religions of India, history and philosophy of yoga, love mysticism in world religions, religion and the feminine, religion and psychology, Christian and Hindu dialogue, interfaith dialogue (757) 594-7284 gschweig@cnu.edu
Strehle, Stephen Relationship of church and state, religion and politics (757) 594-7272 sstrehle@cnu.edu
Timani, Hussam S. Islamic theology, Islam in America, political Islam, women in Islam, Qur'anic and Hadith studies (757) 594-7931 hussam.timani@cnu.edu
Underwood, Lori J. Modern philosophy, ethics, political philosophy, especially the writings of Hobbes, Locke, Rousseau, and Kant; formal and informal reasoning, philosophy of war and peace (757) 594-8828 underwoo@cnu.edu

Back to top

Physics, Computer Science and Engineering

Name Specialties Phone Email
Riedl, Anton Next generation networking: design issues, quality of service, traffic engineering (757) 594-7829 riedl@pcs.cnu.edu
Zhang, Ming Neural information systems, pattern recognition, image processing, artificial intelligence, data simulation, distributed systems (757) 594-7563 mzhang@pcs.cnu.edu

Back to top

Psychology

Name Specialties Phone Email
Carpenter, Deanna Clinical psychology, sexual risk-taking, sexual dysfunctions, couples and sex therapy, psychology of gender, gender identity, health psychology, pain management (757) 594-8509 dcarpenter@cnu.edu
Cartwright, Kelly Cognitive development, executive skills, reading comprehension and comprehension difficulties, reading and language processes, struggling readers, children's learning and cognition (757) 594-7949 kewright@cnu.edu
Dow, Gayle Creativity (in education) (757) 594-7918 gayle.dow@cnu.edu
Hart, Jason W. Group and team performance and motivation, attitude formation and change (persuasion), leader effectiveness (757) 594-7924 jason.hart@cnu.edu
Velkey, Andrew J., II Scientific (empirical) reasoning as a means of critical inquiry, understanding human behavior: psychology of choice and self control, psychology of expertise, role of learning in territoriality and aggression in a tropical fish species, evolution and evolutionary bases of behavior in humans and animals, undergraduate research and scholarship in a liberal arts setting (757) 594-7927 avelkey@cnu.edu

Back to top

Sociology and Anthropology

Name Specialties Phone Email
Gustafsson, Mai Lan Refugees, magic and religion, Vietnam, cultural anthropology, Southeast Asia (757) 594-7872 mai.gustafsson@cnu.edu
Lewis, Michael Deviance, crime and the criminal justice system, sports in American society (757) 594-7447 mlewis@cnu.edu
Waldron, Linda Childhood and youth studies, youth and violence, violence in schools and school safety programs, zero-tolerance and discipline policies, inequality and education, media studies (TV, film and documentary analysis), TV and radio news writing/producing (757) 594-8722 lwaldron@cnu.edu

Back to top