Faculty Senate

The faculty of Christopher Newport are essential participants in the development and implementation of academic policy. The Faculty Senate is a representative body of the faculty, comprising 15 representatives from each of the three colleges and the Luter School of Business.

Faculty senators are liaisons between all departments and standing university committees and university administration. The Senate represents the faculty in the consideration of university policies that impact the academic environment and affect the welfare of the University.

The Faculty Senate meets regularly with the deans, provost and president to discuss issues and present the viewpoints and perspectives of the faculty to senior members of the University’s leadership team.

Members

Executive Committee

Dr. Jana Adamitis
President
Department Chair & Associate Professor
Modern and Classical Languages and Literatures
College of Arts and Humanities
(757) 594–7057
jadam@cnu.edu

Dr. Linda Manning
Vice President
Department Chair & Associate Professor
Communication
College of Social Sciences
(757) 594–7683
lmanning@cnu.edu

Dr. John Nichols
Secretary
Associate Professor & Director of Film Studies
English
College of Arts and Humanities
(757) 594–8896
jnichols@cnu.edu

Dr. Chris Kennedy
Handbook Liaison
Associate Professor
Mathematics
College of Natural and Behavioral Sciences
(757) 594–7451
christopher.kennedy@cnu.edu

Dr. Harold Grau
Parliamentarian
Associate Professor
Molecular Biology and Chemistry
College of Natural and Behavioral Sciences
(757) 594–7946
hgrau@cnu.edu

Arts and Humanities

Dr. Jana Adamitis
Associate Professor
Department of Modern and Classical Languages and Literatures
(757) 594–7057
jadam@cnu.edu

Dr. Rachel Holland
Associate Professor
Department of Music
(757) 594–8875
rachel.holland@cnu.edu

Dr. John Nichols
Associate Professor
Department of English
(757) 594–8896
jnichols@cnu.edu

Dr. Elizabeth Jelinek
Assistant Professor
Department of Philosophy and Religious Studies
(757) 594–7681
elizabeth.jelinek@cnu.edu

Dr. Hussam Timani
Associate Professor
Department of Philosophy and Religious Studies
(757) 594–7931
hussam.timani@cnu.edu

Luter School of Business

Dr. William Donaldson
Assistant Professor
Department of Management and Marketing
(757) 594–7836
william.donaldson@cnu.edu

Natural and Behavorial Sciences

Dr. Ed Brash
Professor
Department of Physics, Computer Science and Engineering
(757) 594–7451
edward.brash@cnu.edu

Dr. Costa Gerousis
Associate Professor
Department of Physics, Computer Science and Engineering
(757) 594–7603
gerousis@cnu.edu

Dr. Harold Grau
Associate Professor
Department of Molecular Biology and Chemistry
(757) 594–7946
hgrau@cnu.edu

Dr. Chris Kennedy
Associate Professor
Department of Mathematics
(757) 594–8514
christopher.kennedy@cnu.edu

Dr. Jessica Thompson
Associate Professor
Department of Organismal and Environmental Biology
(757) 594–7307
jessica.thompson@cnu.edu

Social Sciences

Dr. Linda Manning
Associate Professor
Department of Communication
(757) 594–7683
lmanning@cnu.edu

Dr. Lynn Shollen
Assistant Professor
Department of Leadership and American Studies
(757) 594–7557
lynn.shollen@cnu.edu

Dr. Linda Waldron
Associate Professor
Department of Sociology, Social Work and Anthropology
(757) 594–8722
lwaldron@cnu.edu

Dr. Robert Winder
Professor
Department of Economics
(757) 594–7004
rwinder@cnu.edu

Back to top
Report a problem
Version 2.0