Faculty Senate - Faculty Senate - Christopher Newport University

Faculty Senate

The faculty of Christopher Newport are essential participants in the development and implementation of academic policy. The Faculty Senate is a representative body of the faculty, comprising 15 representatives from each of the three colleges and the Luter School of Business.

Faculty senators are liaisons between all departments and standing university committees and university administration. The Senate represents the faculty in the consideration of university policies that impact the academic environment and affect the welfare of the University.

The Faculty Senate meets regularly with the deans, provost and president to discuss issues and present the viewpoints and perspectives of the faculty to senior members of the University’s leadership team.

Members

Executive Committee

Brian M. Puaca
President
Associate Professor
Department of History
College of Arts and Humanities
(757) 594-7225
bpuaca@cnu.edu

Ed Brash
Vice President
Professor
Department of Physics, Computer Science and Engineering
College of Natural and Behavioral Sciences
(757) 594–7451
edward.brash@cnu.edu

Sean Connable
Secretary
Lecturer
Department of Communication
College of Social Sciences
(757) 594-0324
sean.connable@cnu.edu

Jana Adamitis
Handbook Liaison
Associate Professor
Modern and Classical Languages and Literatures
College of Arts and Humanities
(757) 594–7057
jadam@cnu.edu

Lynn Shollen
Parliamentarian
Department Chair & Associate Professor
Department of Leadership and American Studies
College of Social Sciences
(757) 594–7557
lynn.shollen@cnu.edu

Arts and Humanities

Jana Adamitis
Associate Professor
Modern and Classical Languages and Literatures
(757) 594–7057
jadam@cnu.edu

Michael Mulryan
Associate Professor
Modern and Classical Languages and Literatures
(757) 594-7083
michael.mulryan@cnu.edu

Brian M. Puaca
Associate Professor
Department of History
(757) 594-7225
bpuaca@cnu.edu

Sharon Rowley
Professor
Department of English
(757) 594-8874
srowley@cnu.edu

Hussam Timani
Associate Professor
Department of Philosophy and Religion
(757) 594-7931
hussam.timani@cnu.edu

Luter School of Business

William Donaldson
Assistant Professor
Department of Management and Marketing
(757) 594–7836
william.donaldson@cnu.edu

College of Natural and Behavioral Sciences

Rob Atkinson
Professor
Department of Organismal and Environmental Biology
(757) 594-7619
atkinson@cnu.edu

Ed Brash
Professor
Department of Physics, Computer Science and Engineering
(757) 594–7451
edward.brash@cnu.edu

Roberto Flores
Associate Professor
Department of Physics, Computer Science and Engineering
(757) 594-7487
roberto.flores@cnu.edu

Laurie Hunter
Lecturer
Department of Psychology
(757) 594-8088
laurie.hunter@cnu.edu

Charles Samuels
Assistant Professor
Department of Mathematics
(757) 594-7037
charles.samuels@cnu.edu

College of Social Sciences

Sean Connable
Lecturer
Department of Communication
(757) 594-0324
sean.connable@cnu.edu

Tatiana Rizova
Associate Professor
Department of Political Science
(757) 594-7971
tatiana.rizova@cnu.edu

Lynn Shollen
Associate Professor
Department of Leadership and American Studies
(757) 594–7557
lynn.shollen@cnu.edu

Linda Waldron
Associate Professor
Department of Sociology, Social Work and Anthropology
(757) 594-8722
lwaldron@cnu.edu

Back to top
Report a problem
Version 2.1