Agenda for Faculty Senate meeting

3 PM Friday, 4 November 2005, SC214

  1. Call to Order
  2. Introduction of guests:
  3. Acknowledge electronic approval of minutes of 9/30 meeting
  4. Presentations by guests
    1. Professor Pollio: possibility of a Distinguished Lecture Series (proposal available:
    2. Jason Scheel: synopsis of SGA activities
    3. Robert Peresich: "Topic Courses Expansion Act"
  5. President's report
  6. Committee reports
    1. Senator Guajardo: recommendations on Faculty Development Grant applications (Senate vote)
    2. Senator Knipp: recommendations by Dean Bartels and by Faculty Council on Liberal Learning and Academic Life (FCLLAL) on the composition of FCLLAL and its role in the curricular process (available:, as approved at its 10/14/05 meeting (minutes available:
    3. liaisons for departments which have no Senators:
      1. Underwood: Sociology, Social Work, and Anthropology
      2. Grau (formerly Knipp): Mathematics
      3. Whiting: Communication Studies
      4. Breese: Music and Art
      5. Vachris: Leadership
      6. Cartwright: Library Science
      7. Schwarze: Military Science
    4. Senator Wymer: new courses and Areas of Inquiry submissions from the Undergraduate Curriculum Committee (available:
  7. Old business
    1. Vote on recommendation by the Undergraduate Curriculum Committee (UCC) to make the Director of Academic Advising an ex officio member of UCC
    2. Vote on change of privileges for emeritus status (available:
    3. Form working group for Nomination Review of Distinguished Professor(s)
      Charge: recommend Peer Group members (5 Distinguished Professors; if insufficient numbers are available, fill with those holding rank of Professor) for Senate nomination and make recommendation to Senate regarding candidacy. Senate to designate Peer Group and its chair Dec. 2. Senate must also provide written commentary on candidacy to the Peer Group, which makes its recommendation to the Provost no later than March 1.
  8. New business
    1. Senate-Provost working group on Graduate School Preparations: Kidd (chair), Hicks, Underwood, Prof. Costa Gerousis, Dean Bobbye Bartels, Fin. Aid Director Mary Wigginton, Career and Counseling Director Anita Tiemen, and Connie Gianulis
    2. Review of broadcast-email policy
    3. Handbook change re handling of electronic copies of minutes from standing committees (list available:
    4. Auditing classroom space to survey faculty wishes
    5. General Faculty meeting at 12:30 PM on Tuesday 11/29/05 in the Alumni Room (SC150): request for topics
    6. Eliminating CLEP tests at CNU (present policy available:
  9. Other