Minutes of Faculty Senate meeting

Saturday, 13 May 2006, Freeman Center

Senators present: Schwarze, Underwood, Adamitis, Vachris, Hicks, Whiting, Doughty, Knipp, Sellars, Cartwright, Guajardo, Kidd
Senators absent: Wymer, Breese, Grau
Guest present: Senator-elect Bob Hasbrouck
  1. The meeting was called to order at 9:00 AM.
  2. Electronic approval of the minutes of the meeting on 4/21 of the Faculty Senate was acknowledged.
  3. President's report
    The provost has sent the affected members of the department of Library Science two contracts, one identical to their current position, tenured and at-will, the other conferring on them professional status only and giving them advance notice of any termination decision. The tenure is still located in the department of library science. The Provost is essentially giving the affected employees a chance to make the choice themselves; the memo directs them to sign one contract or the other and return it to his office. It is presumably possible to have a department that includes only one person.

    At this stage in the meeting, the Senate skipped down to item IV.B in the agenda, Schwarze left the meeting, and Vice President Whiting took over in the chair.

  4. Committee reports
    1. Guajardo: changes to Faculty Development Grant process
      1. change to evaluation form (available: http://facultysenate.cnu.edu/05_06/misc/facdevgrant/eval.doc)
        This was moved, seconded, and approved unanimously.
      2. information to include in application package (available: http://facultysenate.cnu.edu/05_06/misc/facdevgrant/applicnew.doc)
        This was tabled, owing to the fact that the updated version of this document was not included in the Senators' handouts.
    2. Kidd: consideration of deans' recommendations for nominations (to SCHEV) for Outstanding Faculty Award
      1. Tracey Schwarze (vita available: http://facultysenate.cnu.edu/05_06/misc/schwarze.rtf)
      2. Lisa Spiller (vita available: http://facultysenate.cnu.edu/05_06/misc/spiller.doc)
      3. Gary Green (vita available: http://facultysenate.cnu.edu/05_06/misc/green.doc)
      The committee (Kidd, Vachris, Underwood, and Breese) recommended the above ranking of these three candidates. This recommendation was moved, seconded, and approved with nine (Underwood, Adamitis, Vachris, Sellars, Kidd, Cartwright, Guajardo, Knipp, Doughty) in favor, one (Hicks) abstention, and none opposed.

      At this time, Schwarze returned to the meeting and retook the chair, and the Senate returned to item IV.A in the agenda.
  5. New business:
    1. Vote on UCC recommendations:
      1. LDSP 330 (a new course), for insertion into the Identities, Institutions, and Society Area of Inquiry
        This was moved, seconded, and passed, with ten (Underwood, Adamitis, Vachris, Hicks, Knipp, Whiting, Doughty, Kidd, Guajardo, Cartwright) in favor, none opposed, and one (Sellars) abstention.
      2. Changes to SOWK program (available: http://facultysenate.cnu.edu/05_06/misc/UCC/programs/sowk.rtf)
        Doughty pointed out that this program change involves removing three extradepartmental major requirements (one each in BIOL, HLTH, and PSYC) and adding 11 credits worth of courses within the department of the program. The Senate decided to send this change-proposal back to the SOWK department, so that they can rationalize the course consolidation within their department and the increase in number of credits in the major and so that they can speak to the impact which this change will have upon departments which offer these service courses.
The meeting adjourned at 9:18 AM.

submitted by Peter Knipp, secretary of the Faculty Senate

If you are viewing a static version of this document, see http://facultysenate.cnu.edu/05_06/minutes/5_13.html for the online version.