Agenda for Faculty Senate meeting

3 PM Friday, 20 April 2007, Board Room in Student Union

  1. Call to Order
  2. Introduction of guest(s):
  3. Acknowledge electronic approval of minutes for 3/16 meeting of the Faculty Senate
  4. Presentations by guests
  5. President's report
  6. Committee reports
    1. Grau: status of elections
      1. Senate
        • SoB: Nazur Rahim (2 year) and Leland Jordan (1 year)
        • SSPS: Pete Carlson and Nicole Guajardo (both 2 year)
        • LA: Rebecca Wheeler (2 year), Vernon Harper (2 year), and Kip Redick (1 year)
        • S&T: Lynn Lambert and Kathleen Brunke (both 2-year)
      2. committees
    2. Knipp: recommendation from calendar committee
    3. Pollard: faculty evaluation
      use of computer automation in evaluation protype of digital archiving and reporting systems
      1. Digital Measures
      2. Sedona Systems (click here or here)
    4. Review of courses to go into various AoI:
      1. Duskin and Guajardo: AMST 310 (IIS)
      (Click here for a complete list of this year's AoI applications.)
    5. Kip Redick: ATAC
      1. security policies to be adopted by the University Technology Committee
      2. demise of WebCT as a tool of pedagogy
    6. Hasbrouck: ranking of Outstanding Faculty Award nominees
    7. Knipp: slate of nominees for Executive Committee of 07-08 Senate
      1. president: Whiting
      2. vice president: Guajardo
      3. secretary: Lambert
      4. at-large: Hasbrouck, Wheeler
  7. Old business
    1. Breese: recommendations about sabbatical-application review process
      1. grading rubric
      2. reviewing form
    2. Senate vote on recommendations from grade-distribution committee
  8. New business
    1. Budget Advisory Committee:
      1. nominate faculty members from academic area of Science and Technology
      2. specification of terms and/or rotation of faculty representatives
    2. Vachris: update on Honor Committee
    3. Rick Cheney: UDC proposal for revised pass-fail option
  9. Other
Note: at the conclusion of this meeting the 06-07 Senate officers will run the first meeting of the 07-08 Senate. The sole agendum of this latter meeting will be the election of the five members of the Executive Committee, including president, vice-president, and secretary.