Our Faculty and Staff

Dr. Jason W. Hart, Department Chair 
Associate Professor
PhD from Virginia Commonwealth University
Group dynamics, industrial/organizational psychology
jason.hart@cnu.edu
(757) 594-7924
(757) 594-7924
Dr. Susan P. Antaramian
Assistant Professor
PhD from University of South Carolina
School psychology, positive psychology
susan.antaramian@cnu.edu
Forbes 2032
(757) 594-7105
Dr. Thomas D. Berry
Associate Professor
PhD from Virginia Tech
Social and environmental psychology
berry@cnu.edu
Forbes 2004
(757) 594-7934
Dr. Matthew M. Campolattaro
Assistant Professor
PhD from University of Iowa
Neuroscience of Learning and Memory
mcampola@cnu.edu
Forbes 1050
(757) 594-8509
Dr. Kelly B. Cartwright
Professor
PhD from University of Arkansas, Fayetteville
Cognitive development, reading and language, learning sciences
kewright@cnu.edu
Forbes 2022
(757) 594-7949
Dr. Diane Catanzaro
Associate Professor
PhD from Old Dominion University
Industrial/organizational psychology
catanzar@cnu.edu
Forbes 2031
(757) 594-7948
Dr. Michelle Clark
Lecturer
Psy.D. from University of Hartford
Clinical psychology, effective communication, family dynamics, experiences of underrepresented college students
michelle.clark@cnu.edu
Forbes 2034
(757) 594-7643
Dr. Dorothy C. Doolittle
Professor
PhD from University of Tennessee
Industrial/organizational psychology, assessment
dolittle@cnu.edu
Forbes 2027
(757) 594-7540
Dr. Gayle T. Dow
Assistant Professor
PhD from Indiana University
Educational psychology, Giftedness and creativity
gayle.dow@cnu.edu
Forbes 2033
(757) 594-7918
Dr. Jeffrey A. Gibbons
Associate Professor
PhD from Kansas State University
Memory and cognition
jgibbons@cnu.edu
Forbes 2003
(757) 594-7256
Dr. Shelia P. Greenlee
Professor
PhD from The Ohio State University
Developmental and educational psychology
sgreenle@cnu.edu
Forbes 2026
(757) 594-7929
Dr. Nicole R. Guajardo
Professor
Dean of the College of Natural and Behavioral Sciences
PhD from West Virginia University
Lifespan development, social cognitive development
nguajard@cnu.edu
Forbes Hall 3035
(757) 594-8214
Dr. Laurie S. Hunter
Lecturer
PhD from University of Alabama, Birmingham
Experimental psychology, social and emotional development
laurie.hunter@cnu.edu
Forbes 2030
(757) 594-7994
Dr. Sherman A. Lee
Associate Professor
PhD from University of Kentucky
Personality and emotion
sherman.lee@cnu.edu
Forbes 2008
(757) 594-7648
Dr. Sanford E. Lopater
Professor
PhD from University of Virginia
Sensation/perception, health psychology, human sexuality
slopater@cnu.edu
Forbes 2001
(757) 594-7108
Dr. Timothy R. Marshall
Associate Professor
PhD from Virginia Tech
Social development, family systems, multivariate statistics
tmarshal@cnu.edu
Forbes 2016
(757) 594-7994
Dr. Jeffrey Niehaus
Lecturer
PhD from University of California, Santa Barbara
Developmental and evolutionary psychology
jeffrey.niehaus@cnu.edu
Forbes 2030
Dr. Andrew J. Velkey II
Associate Professor
PhD from University of Montana
Comparative Psychology, Animal Learning
avelkey@cnu.edu
Forbes 2034
(757) 594-7927

Adjunct Faculty

Shirley Bever shirley.bever@cnu.edu
Forbes 1006
Karen DiNuzzo karen.dinuzzo@cnu.edu
Forbes 1006
Courtney Frantz cfrantz@cnu.edu
Forbes 1006
Cynthia Pugh cynthia.pugh@cnu.edu
Forbes 1006
Alice Rock alice.rock@cnu.edu
Forbes 1006
Robert Sulzberger robert.sulzberger@cnu.edu
Forbes 1006

Emeritus Faculty

F. Samuel Bauer
Professor Emeritus
PhD, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign
Physiological psychology
Robert Herrman
Professor Emeritus
PhD, Michigan State University
James C. Windsor
Professor Emeritus
EdD, University of Virginia