Calling all Captains!!!

Welcome Week is part 2 of your Orientation experience at CNU. This week long program provides you with educational and social opportunities. We want you to be successful and will show you the resources we have to do just that! All first-year students are REQUIRED and EXPECTED to attend all Welcome Week activities. 

Welcome Week begins with Move-In  August 16 and 17.

The opening session will begin the evening of August 17th. Programs will continue throughout the rest of the week.  All first-year students are REQUIRED to attend Welcome Week events.  Fall athletes and marching band will work with their coaches on specific practice times.

 2014 Welcome Week schedule

* Welcome Week is for students only. There are no parent programs during this time.

*Any student that is transferring into CNU will participate in Changing Tides Transfer Orientation Program.

 

 

 

Welcome Week activities and programs are designed to help you transition to academic life and life on campus.  Students are required to attend events in order to help ensure a successful start to their academic career. Attendance will be taken at random so it is important to carry your student ID with you at all times.

Fall NCAA athletes should work with their coaches on what will be expected of them during the week. Marching Band members should work with their band director on what will be expected of them during the week.

Here are some highlights of things you can expect at Welcome Week:

First, check out our Session Overview!

Hall Brawl-work together with your residence hall and learning community to complete challenges across campus while familiarizing yourself with campus and campus resources!  Which hall will be crowned Hall Brawl champ and have bragging rights as the year begins??

Core Advisor Meetings-all students will meet with their core advisor twice during Welcome Week. Once will be in a small group setting with other advisees and then a one- on- one meeting that allows you more personal time to spend planning your semester.

Academic Meeting and Open Houses-all students will meet the Dean of their college in a large group meeting followed with open houses by some departments. This is great chance to meet faculty!

Workshops- study skills, how to plan for your major, what to expect this first year, developing your own emergency plan, what is there to do in Newport News, how to get involved. All of these topics, plus more, will be addressed through interactive workshops. It is important you feel prepared to begin your year and these workshops will help you do just that!

Community of Scholars Convocation-this annual tradition serves as your official welcome from the University Community into our Academic Community of Honor. Professional dress required for this important ceremony!

Club Fair-check-out over 200 clubs and student organizations CNU has to offer. (just don't sign up for all 200!) Giveaways galore!

Evening Events-what would life at college be like without fun things to do?  Join us for some fun evening programs:

  • Shop til you Drop-spend time decorating your new "pad" with your new roommate and suite mates at Target and Bed Bath and Beyond.  Buses will be available for transportation
  • CNU's Got Talent-our own panel of judges will be voting on our new talent champ!  Bring your most creative talents to audition for a chance to perform in front of the entire class of 2018! 
  • Open Rec Night, Drive-In Movie, Game night and much more...

What can I expect at Welcome Week?

WW is designed as a "part 2" of your transition to CNU.  Programs, speakers, and workshops have been designed that help you become better prepared for classes and life on campus!  In addition there are several fun events that are designed to help build community and allow you to get to know your fellow classmates.  Check out the full Welcome Week Schedule here

What do I have to attend during welcome week?

All sessions are required unless otherwise noted. The WW schedule has been designed with you in mind.  We want to make sure you are prepared and successful, therefore it is required that you attend.  Evening events are optional but you are encouraged to attend so you can meet more of your classmates and have some fun!

What if I am playing a fall NCAA sport or part of marching band?

You will need to work with your coach and/or program director to see what WW events you will attend and what practice times you will attend.  Coaches and directors are aware of the WW schedule so will work with you to best meet your needs and their requirements.

What do commuter students need to attend?

Students that are commuting to campus should plan to attend the commuter meeting on Sunday, August 17th at 3:30pm in the Crows nest.  You will recieve a full WW schedule, your student ID card, and a meal card to be utilized during WW.  Commuter students are also required to attend all WW programs.

Is there anything specific I will need for welcome week?

All events are casual attire with the exception of Community of Scholars Honors Convocation.  This is a formal ceremony that requires business attire. Males a suit or dress shirt and tie is appropriate.  Females may wear a suit ,modest dress, skirt, or pants. 

Is there any free time during welcome week to meet up with my parents or friends off campus?

We have many required events that are important for you to attend.  There is free time/down time built into the schedule and we encourage you to use the weekend to explore the area.  There are no programs for parents during welcome week.

How do meals work?

Students that have signed up for a meal plan will begin that meal plan for lunch on the day you move in.  Commuter students will recieve meal cards at the commuter meeting (Sunday, August 17th at 3:30pm in the Crows Nest).  This meal card will be good during welcome week only.

 

CORE ADVISING GROUP MEETINGS

 

During Welcome Week students will meet with their Core Advisor to learn more about the guidance and advice they can expect to receive throughout their academic journey at CNU. Core Advising Meetings will be held from 1pm-3:30pm pm on Monday August 18,2014. Your core advisor will contact you prior to Welcome Week via your @cnu.edu email address. Please see below for a list of meeting locations and times:

Location

1:00-2:15pm

 

2:15-3:30pm

 

 

MCMURRAN 110

 

Carlson

 

Adut

MCMURRAN 112

Edery

X

MCMURRAN 114

Cusher

Hettche

MCMURRAN 160

Underwood, Kidd

Harwell

MCMURRAN 162

Skees

Shaltayev

MCMURRAN 164

Lingenfelter

Greene

MCMURRAN 200C

Throupe

Timmer

MCMURRAN 200D

Waters

Waldron

MCMURRAN 207

Lloyd

Harris, Jaime

MCMURRAN 210

Motta

Finn

MCMURRAN 212

Healy

Dow

MCMURRAN 216

Bunch

Spranger

MCMURRAN 257

Gordon

Burke

MCMURRAN 260

Keeling

Ruane

MCMURRAN 262

Paul

Billinson

MCMURRAN 307

Connable

Shortsleeve

MCMURRAN 310

Reger

Camobreco

MCMURRAN 312

Fowler-Calisto

Mendham

MCMURRAN 314

Hutchinson

Greenlee, Harry

MCMURRAN 316

Hyland

Herbert

MCMURRAN 357

Lindquist

Meyer, Michaela

MCMURRAN 360

Duskin

Silverman

MCMURRAN 362

Heddle

Gagnon

MCMURRAN 364

Jaremski

Woodworth

MCMURRAN 366

Thompson, John

Mazzocca

FORBES 2012

Lambert

Baird

FORBES 2015

Cole

Selim

FORBES 2058

Dow

Niehaus

FORBES 2070A

Gerousis

Kotula

FORBES 2070C

Bradie

Flores

FORBES 2070D

Carpenter

Doolittle

FORBES 2070E

Niehaus

Siewe-Seuchie

FORBES 2074

Greenlee, Shelia

Fowler-Calisto

FORBES 2088

Antaramian

 X

FORBES 2090

Brown

Lasseter

FORBES 3012

Brunke

Meighan

FORBES 3014

Carney

Grau

Meeting with Academic Departments for First Year and Transfer Students

Thursday, August 21, 2014

1:30 to 2:30 pm

College of Arts and Humanities

 

Meeting Location

Name of Department Chair

Name of Department Secretary

English

McMurran Hall

Dr. Jean Filetti

Linda Hartley

 

Room 212

filetti@cnu.edu

hartley@cnu.edu

Fine Art and Art History

Ferguson Center

Dr. Michelle Erhardt

Elaine Viel

 

Room T195

michelle.erhardt@cnu.edu

eviel@cnu.edu

History

McMurran Hall

Dr. Bill Connell

Nancy Wilson

 

Room 164

wconnell@cnu.edu

nancy.wilson@cnu.edu

Modern and Classical Languages and Literatures

No Meeting Scheduled

Dr. Jana Adamitis

Yvonne Wynn

 

 

jadam@cnu.edu

ywynn@cnu.edu

Music

Ferguson Center

Dr. Rachel Holland

Elise Rose

 

Room 183

rachel.holland@cnu.edu

elise.rose@cnu.edu

Philosophy and Religious Studies

McMurran Hall

Dr. Kip Redick

Tara Dixon

 

Room 112

kredick@cnu.edu

tara.dixon@cnu.edu

Theater and Dance

Ferguson Center

Prof. Gregg Lloyd

Briana Taravella

 

Room T107

glloyd@cnu.edu

briana.taravella@cnu.edu

College of Natural and Behavioral Sciences

 

Meeting Location

Name of Department Chair / Program Coordinator

Name of Department Secretary

Mathematics

No Meeting Scheduled

Dr. Christopher Kennedy

Alicia Kirksey

 

 

christopher.kennedy@cnu.edu

alicia.kirksey@cnu.edu

Molecular Biology and Chemistry

No Meeting Scheduled

Dr. Lisa Webb

Sylvia Caldwell

 

 

lwebb@cnu.edu

sylvia.caldwell@cnu.edu

Neuroscience

Forbes Hall

Dr. Andrew Velkey

 

 

Room 3012

avelkey@cnu.edu

 

Organismal and Environmental  Biology

No Meeting Scheduled

Dr. Michael Meyer

Donna Creque

 

 

michael.meyer@cnu.edu

dcreque@cnu.edu

Physics, Computer Science and Engineering

Luter Hall

Dr. Anton Riedl

Clare Maliniak

 

Room 221

riedl@cnu.edu

clarem@cnu.edu

Pre-Health

McMurran Hall

Dr. Gwynne Brown

 

 

Room 101

gwynne.brown@cnu.edu

 

Psychology

No Meeting Scheduled

Dr. Jason Hart

Alinka Pollock

 

 

jason.hart@cnu.edu

alinka.pollock@cnu.edu

College of Social Sciences

 

Meeting Location

Name of Department Chair

Name of Department Secretary

Communication

Luter Hall

Dr. Linda Manning

Kathy Byars

 

Room 269

lmanning@cnu.edu

kbyars@cnu.edu

Economics

Luter Hall

Dr. Robert Winder

Dianne Williams

 

Room 243

rwinder@cnu.edu

dianne.williams@cnu.edu

Government

McMurran Hall

Dr. Michelle Barnello

Kelly Martone

 

Room 360

barnello@cnu.edu

kelly.martone@cnu.edu

Leadership and American Studies

No Meeting Scheduled

Dr. Benjamin Redekop

Clarissa Jenkins

 

 

benjamin.redekop@cnu.edu

clarissa.jenkins@cnu.edu

Luter School of Business

Luter Hall

Dr. Ronnie Cohen

Tricia Lorandi

 

Room 123

rcohen@cnu.edu

tricia.lorandi@cnu.edu

Military Science

Luter Hall

LTC James Kimbrough

Cathy Harper

 

Room 137

jmkimbrough@wm.edu

charper@cnu.edu

Sociology, Social Work and Anthropology

No Meeting Scheduled

Dr. Mai Gustafsson

Ellen Whiting

 

 

mai.gustafsson@cnu.edu

ewhiting@cnu.edu