In 2012, Christopher Newport University established the Torggler Summer Vocal Institute (TSVI), a prestigious residency program for emerging young singers who wish to train with world-renowned vocal pedagogues and performers. TSVI exposes students to critical theories while developing a wide variety of essential performance skills during a two-week intensive artistic experience. All voice lessons, coaching and master classes are taught by leading performers, teachers and scholars. Skill-classes and workshops — including private lessons, vocal health, sight-singing skills, ensemble singing, diction, dance, acting, and movement and stage combat are offered. A maximum of 50 students are chosen to participate each year. TSVI is made possible by a generous gift from George and Mary Torggler, retired entrepreneurs and longtime supporters of the arts and education.

The Torggler Summer Vocal Institute

Department of Music
Christopher Newport University
1 Avenue of the Arts
Newport News, VA 23606-3072

Phone: 757.594.7089 Email:

Our Board of Advisers
George and Mary Torggler, TSVI Founders
Paul S. Trible, Jr., President, Christopher Newport University
David Doughty, Provost, Christopher Newport University
Lori Underwood, Dean of the College of Arts and Humanities, Christopher Newport University
William Biddle, Executive Director, Ferguson Center for the Arts
Mark Reimer, Chair, Department of Music, Christopher Newport University
JoAnn Falletta, Music Director, The Virginia Symphony
J. Lynn Thompson, Conductor, Ohio Light Opera
Adelia Thompson, Vice President of Advancement, Christopher Newport University
Andrew Chugg, General Manager, Virginia Opera

Our General Management
Rachel Holland, Executive Managing Director
Bruce Bronstein, Director of Communications
Lori Jacobs, Director of Public Relations
Courtney Michel, Graphic Designer
Maggie Vaughan, Web Services
Dr. Jennifer Barker & John Palmer, Videographer, Visual Images Media, Inc.
Elise Rose, Administrative Support