Office of the Provost

The priorities of the Office of the Provost are to ensure the highest quality of liberal arts and sciences curriculum; recruitment and development of a diverse, highly qualified faculty; manage available resources; support undergraduate research and ensure excellence in student learning.

The provost is the chief academic officer of the University with delegated authority from the president and Board of Visitors over all academic affairs, including teaching, research, scholarship and service. The provost oversees three colleges, including Arts and Humanities, Natural and Behavioral Sciences, Social Sciences, and the Luter School of Business. Other departments include International Studies, Sponsored Programs, Undergraduate Research and Creative Activity, Graduate Studies, and Assessment.

The provost works closely with an advisory council of two vice provosts, four deans, Faculty Senate president and other staff members supporting academic activities, including budget and analysis, faculty recruitment, curriculum, and the university library.

quick edit report a problem