Faculty Senate

The faculty of Christopher Newport are essential participants in the development and implementation of academic policy. The Faculty Senate is a representative body of the faculty, comprising 15 representatives from each of the three colleges and the Luter School of Business.

Faculty senators are liaisons between all departments and standing university committees and university administration. The Senate represents the faculty in the consideration of university policies that impact the academic environment and affect the welfare of the University.

The Faculty Senate meets regularly with the deans, provost and president to discuss issues and present the viewpoints and perspectives of the faculty to senior members of the University’s leadership team.

Members

Executive Committee

Tatiana Rizova
President
Associate Professor
Department of Political Science
College of Social Sciences
(757) 594-7971
tatiana.rizova@cnu.edu

Rachel Holland
Vice President
Associate Professor & Department Chair
Department of Music
College of Arts and Humanities
(757) 594–8875
rachel.holland@cnu.edu

Sean Connable
Parliamentarian
Senior Lecturer
Department of Communication
College of Social Sciences
(757) 594-0324
sean.connable@cnu.edu

Roberto Flores
Handbook Liaison
Associate Professor
Department of Physics, Computer Science and Engineering
College of Natural and Behavioral Science
(757) 594–7787
roberto.flores@cnu.edu

Brian M. Puaca
Secretary and Past President
Professor
Department of History
College of Arts and Humanities
(757) 594–7225
bpuaca@cnu.edu

Arts and Humanities

Dawn Hutchinson
Senior Lecturer
Department of Philosophy and Religious Studies
(757) 594–8795
dhutchin@cnu.edu

Rachel Holland
Associate Professor & Department Chair
Department of Music
(757) 594–8875
rachel.holland@cnu.edu

Michael Mulryan
Associate Professor
Department of Modern and Classical Languages and Literatures
(757) 594-7083
michael.mulryan@cnu.edu

Brian M. Puaca
Professor
Department of History
(757) 594–7225
bpuaca@cnu.edu

Graham Schweig
Professor
Department of Philosophy and Religious Studies
(757) 594-7959
gschweig@cnu.edu

Luter School of Business

Matt Hettche
Associate Professor & Department Chair
Department of Management and Marketing
(757) 594–7692
matthew.hettche@cnu.edu

College of Natural and Behavioral Sciences

Rob Atkinson
Professor
Department of Organismal and Environmental Biology
(757) 594-7619
atkinson@cnu.edu

Leon Cole
Instructor
Department of Physics, Computer Science and Engineering
(757) 594–7188
leon.cole@cnu.edu

Roberto Flores
Associate Professor
Department of Physics, Computer Science and Engineering
(757) 594-7487
roberto.flores@cnu.edu

Laurie Hunter
Senior Lecturer
Department of Psychology
(757) 594-8088
laurie.hunter@cnu.edu

Charles Samuels
Assistant Professor
Department of Mathematics
(757) 594-7037
charles.samuels@cnu.edu

College of Social Sciences

Sean Connable
Senior Lecturer
Department of Communication
(757) 594-0324
sean.connable@cnu.edu

Brent Cusher
Associate Professor
Department of Leadership and American Studies
(757) 594-8105
brent.cusher@cnu.edu

John Finn
Associate Professor
Department of Sociology, Social Work and Anthropology
(757) 594–7939
john.finn@cnu.edu

Tatiana Rizova
Associate Professor
Department of Political Science
(757) 594-7971
tatiana.rizova@cnu.edu

quick edit report a problem