Faculty Senate

The faculty of Christopher Newport are essential participants in the development and implementation of academic policy. The Faculty Senate is a representative body of the faculty, comprising 15 representatives from each of the three colleges and the Luter School of Business.

Faculty senators are liaisons between all departments and standing university committees and university administration. The Senate represents the faculty in the consideration of university policies that impact the academic environment and affect the welfare of the University.

The Faculty Senate meets regularly with the deans, provost and president to discuss issues and present the viewpoints and perspectives of the faculty to senior members of the University’s leadership team.

Members

Executive Committee

Rachel Holland
President
Associate Professor
Department of Music
College of Arts and Humanities
(757) 594-8875
rachel.holland@cnu.edu

John Finn
Vice President
Associate Professor
Department of Sociology, Social Work and Anthropology
College of Social Sciences
(757) 594–7939
john.finn@cnu.edu

Dawn Hutchinson
Handbook Liaison
Senior Lecturer
Department of Philosophy and Religion
(757) 594–8795
dhutchin@cnu.edu

Lindsey Stone
Secretary
Assistant Professor
Department of Psychology
College of Natural and Behavioral Sciences
(757) 594–8559
lindsey.stone@cnu.edu

Tatiana Rizova
Past President
Associate Professor
Department of Political Science
College of Social Sciences
(757) 594–7971
tatiana.rizova@cnu.edu

Arts and Humanities

Jana Adamitis
Associate Professor
Department of Modern and Classical Languages and Literatures
(757) 594-7057
jadam@cnu.edu

Rocío Gordon
Associate Professor
Department of Modern and Classical Languages and Literatures
(757) 594-8201
rocio.gordon@cnu.edu

Rachel Holland
Associate Professor
Department of Music
(757) 594-8875
rachel.holland@cnu.edu

Dawn Hutchinson
Senior Lecturer
Department of Philosophy and Religion
(757) 594-8795
dhutchin@cnu.edu

John Hyland
Professor
Department of History
(757) 594-7230
john.hyland@cnu.edu

Luter School of Business

Matt Hettche
Associate Professor & Department Chair
Department of Management and Marketing
(757) 594–7692
matthew.hettche@cnu.edu

College of Natural and Behavioral Sciences

Jonathan Backens
Associate Professor
Department of Physics, Computer Science and Engineering
(757) 594-8291
jonathan.backens@cnu.edu

James Kelly
Assistant Professor
Department of Mathematics
(757) 594-7975
james.kelly@cnu.edu

Joshua Patterson
Associate Professor
Department of Molecular Biology and Chemistry
(757) 594-0300
joshua.patterson@cnu.edu

Lindsey Stone
Assistant Professor
Department of Psychology
College of Natural and Behavioral Sciences
(757) 594-8559
lindsey.stone@cnu.edu

College of Social Sciences

Brent Cusher
Associate Professor
Department of Leadership and American Studies
(757) 594-8105
brent.cusher@cnu.edu

John Finn
Associate Professor
Department of Sociology, Social Work and Anthropology
(757) 594-7939
john.finn@cnu.edu

Benjamin Lynerd
Associate Professor
Department of Political Science
(757) 594-8328
benjamin.lynerd@cnu.edu

Scott Smith
Associate Professor
Department of Communication
(757) 594-9300
j.smith@cnu.edu

quick edit report a problem