Your browser does not support JavaScript! Scholarships - Department of History - Christopher Newport University
Skip navigation

Department of History


William Cameron Schlifke Memorial Scholarship
This scholarship is awarded annually to a history major who meets the following criteria:

  • Declared history major
  • Enrolled as a full-time
  • In good standing (2.0 GPA or better)
  • Member of a Greek social organization (fraternity or sorority)
  • Significant contributions to student life

The award amount varies each year and can be applied either to tuition or campus housing bill.

Cameron Schlifke was serving as a designated driver for his fraternity when he was killed by a drunk driver in November 2008. In his memory, his family and many friends raised endowment funds for a scholarship that bears his name. Cameron’s many contributions to student life are recognized in this award and we hope his example will continue to inspire students.

Mario D. Mazzarella Study Abroad Fund
The Mario D. Mazzarella Study Abroad Fund was established in 2012 by his colleagues in the Department of History to honor the many contributions of “Dr. Mazz” over the course of his 44 years of service to Christopher Newport University.

As a dedicated teacher in the classroom and as a leader of many study abroad courses, Dr. Mazzarella helped students understand their place in history and to see themselves as citizens of the world. In his name, the History Department awards this scholarship to deserving students from all academic backgrounds who participate in the department’s faculty-led study abroad programs.

Award Criteria:

  • Recipients must be full-time students in good standing at Christopher Newport or graduating seniors who plan to use the scholarship in the summer after their graduation.
  • Recipients must demonstrate financial need.
  • Recipients must use the scholarship toward the costs associated with either HIST 276 The Study of History Abroad or a similar credit-bearing, CNU faculty-led, overseas history course.

Department Awards

William Parks Award
The William Parks Award honors the graduating history major who has the highest GPA in history courses (with a minimum 3.0 overall grade point average). It includes an engraved plaque and monetary gift.

The award is named in memory of Dr. William Parks, a history professor from 1972 until his untimely death in 1978, and dean at Christopher Newport College from 1977 to 1978. A role model for his faculty colleagues as well as students, he is remembered for his loyalty, friendship and sense of fun. He was also respected for his excellence in teaching and his commitment to scholarship.

Robert M. Usry Award
The Robert M. Usry Award is awarded to the student who has written the best senior seminar paper during the previous academic year, and includes an engraved Jefferson cup and monetary gift.

Usry was one of the first members of the History Department. After a successful career in merchandising, he earned an advanced degree in history and came to teach at Christopher Newport College. In his years as a professor of history, he helped to set the tone of our department as one with high standards and a concern for students. The award is designed to honor both his legacy and the achievements of our students.

Download Adobe Acrobat Reader

Report a problem
Back to top
Version 3.3