Department of English


The English Department proudly offers the following scholarships to deserving students:

The Albert E. Millar Jr. Scholarship honors the life and career of Dr. Al Millar, who taught at Christopher Newport from 1965-2001. This scholarship is funded by donations from the Millar family, students, colleagues and friends. It is given to English majors who demonstrate a desire to study literature.

The Teresa Van Dover Scholarship is given in memory of Terry Van Dover, an English major enrolled during the 1980s. After her death, her husband solicited contributions from Terry's former employers, as well as friends and family, in order to establish the award, the criteria for which reflect Terry's interests and circumstances.

The Nancy Gonzales Turner and Shelly Nicole Turner Memorial Endowed Scholarship in English is awarded to a student majoring in English who exhibits outstanding academic achievement.

The Dr. Joyce K. Sancetta Book Award honors Sancetta’s 10-year service to the English Department. Sancetta funded this book award to assist an English major in developing a library for their personal and/or professional use. Eligible students can submit a list of proposed books and an essay explaining how the specified books advance the student’s interests and goals.

The W.D. Wolf Memorial Endowed Scholarship was established in memory of Wolf’s service to the English Department from 1976 to 1982.

This scholarship is awarded based on academic achievement to full-time students. The recipient of this award must be the editor-in-chief of The Captain's Log. Recipients must maintain a 3.0 or higher GPA. This scholarship is restricted and may only be applied toward tuition charges.

quick edit report a problem