Who We Are


President Paul Trible

Paul S. Trible Jr.

Senator Paul Trible was appointed Christopher Newport’s fifth president in 1996. Under his leadership, the University has become a top choice for high-ability students across America. Trible has overseen wholesale improvements to academic offerings and a complete transformation of the campus into a world-class liberal arts and sciences university.

Trible earned his bachelor of arts degree from Hampden-Sydney College and his law degree from Washington and Lee University. He served as a commonwealth’s attorney of Essex County from 1974 to 1976. He was elected to the U.S. House of Representatives in 1977, serving three terms. In 1983 he was elected to the U.S. Senate, where he served until 1989.

He was a member of the United States Delegation to the United Nations in 1988 and a teaching fellow at the Institute of Politics, John F. Kennedy School of Government at Harvard University in 1989.

He is married to Rosemary Dunaway Trible and has two children, Mary Katherine Trible Peters and Paul S. Trible III.

Academic Affairs

David Doughty, PhD

Vice Provost for Undergraduate Education
Robert E. Colvin, PhD

Vice Provost for Research and Graduate Studies
David Heddle, PhD

Dean of the College of Arts and Humanities
Lori Underwood, PhD

Dean of the College of Natural and Behavioral Sciences
Nicole R. Guajardo, PhD

Dean of the College of Social Sciences
Quentin Kidd, PhD

Dean of the Luter School of Business
Alan Witt

Senior Administration

Chief of Staff
Adelia Thompson

Vice President for Student Affairs
Kevin Hughes, PhD

Vice President for Enrollment and Student Success
Lisa Duncan Raines, PhD

Vice President for University Advancement
Keith Roots

Vice President for Finance and Planning and Chief Financial Officer
Jennifer Latour '95

Vice President for Administration and Auxiliary Services
Christine Ledford

Dean of Admission
Robert Lange III

University Counsel
Maureen Matsen

quick edit report a problem