Board of Visitors Meeting October 22, 2010 - Board of Visitors - Christopher Newport University

Board of Visitors

Board of Visitors Meeting October 22, 2010

The Executive Committee of the Board of Visitors of Christopher Newport University met on October 22, 2010 in the Board Room of the David Student Union with Rector John A. Conrad presiding.

Present from Board

  • Mr. John A. Conrad, Rector
  • The Hon. Flora D. Crittenden
  • Mrs. Jane Susan Frank, Vice-Rector
  • Ms. Ann Hunnicutt, Secretary
  • Ms. Frances Luter
  • Mr. Michael C. Martin
  • Mr. W.L. Thomas
  • Mr. Veasey Wilson

Present from the University

  • President Paul Trible
  • Ms. Cynthia Perry, Chief of Staff
  • Mr. William L. Brauer, Executive Vice President
  • Dr. Mark Padilla, Provost
  • Mr. William Thro, University Counsel
  • Ms. Beverley Mueller, Executive Assistant
  • Ms. Lori Jacobs, Director of Public Relations

Rector Conrad convened the first meeting of the Executive Committee and thanked the members for their time and service on the Committee. He noted that the actions of this committee meeting must be reported at the next full meeting of the Board of Visitors. He also noted that the constitution of the Executive Committee will be reported at the next meeting (see attached memo). President Trible added that all members of the Board have received the materials being discussed and were invited to attend the Executive Committee meeting.

At 10:10 a.m. Rector Conrad called for a motion to enter closed session under Freedom of Information Act Section 2.2.3711-A (1) Personnel. The motion was provided by Mr. Martin and seconded by Mrs. Frank and passed by unanimous vote of the Board.

At 10:45 a.m. the Board returned to open session and Vice-Rector Frank asked for a roll call certifying that only public matters were discussed that were identified in the motion by which the executive or closed meeting was called. Board members Mr. Martin, Ms. Hunnicutt, Ms. Crittenden, Mr. Wilson, Rector Conrad, Ms. Luter, Mr. Thomas and Ms. Frank certified to the above.

Rector Conrad called for approval of Resolution 1: Voluntary Incentive Plan for Instructional Faculty. Ms. Hunnicutt provided the motion, seconded by Mr. Martin and passed by unanimous consent of the Board.

Rector Conrad then called for a motion to approve Resolution 2: Additional Criteria for the Voluntary Retirement Incentive Plan for Instructional Faculty. Ms. Crittenden provided the motion, seconded by Mr. Wilson and approved by unanimous vote of the Board.

Rector Conrad requested that the Governor's letter approving the plan as well as the plan be included with the minutes.

President Trible thanked everyone for attending the meeting and reiterated that all members of the Board had received all the materials that were provided to the Executive Committee. He told the Board that Provost Padilla would be sending an e-mail to the university community following the meeting and that there would be a personal outreach and personal follow up with each of the eligible faculty members. Also, today at the meeting with the full Faculty Senate -- which the Provost and Chief of Staff Cindi Perry always attend -- there will be an opportunity to discuss the actions taken today with the faculty. President Trible said the Board would be advised as to the faculty's response to the early retirement plan.

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned.

quick edit report a problem