Board of Visitors

President Performance Review May 31, 2019

The Board of Visitors convened a second meeting on May 31, 2019 in the Board Room of the David Student Union with Rector Bobby Hatten presiding.

Present from the Board

  • Robert R. Hatten, Esq.
  • Ms. Maria Herbert
  • Mr. C. Bradford Hunter
  • Mr. W. Bruce Jennings
  • Ms. Terri M. McKnight, CPA
  • The Honorable Gabriel Morgan
  • Mr. N. Scott Millar
  • Kellye Walker, Esq.
  • Dr. Ella P. Ward
  • Ms. Judy Ford Wason
  • Mr. Junius Williams

Absent from the Board

  • Lindsey Carney Smith, Esq.
  • Mr. William Ermatinger
  • Mr. Steven S. Kast

Present from the University

  • Paul Trible, President
  • Mrs. Beverley Mueller, Executive Assistant

Rector Hatten asked Ms. McKnight to entertain a motion to enter closed session under Freedom of Information Act Section 2.2.3711(a)(1) Personnel. Dr. Ward provided the motion, seconded by Mr. Hunter and the motion passed by unanimous vote of the Board.

The Board returned to open session and Secretary McKnight asked for a roll call certifying that only public matters were discussed that were identified in the motion by which the executive or closed meeting was called. Board members Mr. Bruce Jennings, Mr. Scott Millar, Ms. Terri McKnight, Mr. Junius Williams, Ms. Judy Wason, Ms. Maria Herbert, Mr. Gabe Morgan, Ms. Kellye Walker, Dr. Ella Ward and Mr. Bobby Hatten certified to the above.

Rector Hatten said that after reviewing the annual goals and accomplishments of the President, the Board determined that President Trible has provided extraordinary leadership to the university and contributed immensely to the success of our students.

Mr. Scott Millar made a motion that having considered the performance of the President. the Board agreed that the President’s performance has been outstanding and there is no room for criticism whatsoever. Rector Hatten called for a second to the motion which was provided by Mr. Bruce Jennings and the motion was approved by unanimous vote of the Board.

As discussed, Rector Hatten called for a motion to increase the President’s state salary to $146,528 and non-state salary supplement to $297,479 for a total salary of $444,007 effective June 10, 2019. In addition, to authorize payment to the President of a Retention Bonus of $130,000 and Success Bonus of $200,000. Mr. Millar provided the motion, seconded by Ms. McKnight and passed by unanimous consent of the Board.

There being no further business the meeting was adjourned.

quick edit report a problem