2023 Virginia Outstanding Faculty Awards - Christopher Newport University


Dr. Kelly Cartwright and Dr. Margarita Marinova

2023 Virginia Outstanding Faculty Awards

Two Christopher Newport faculty members selected as recipients of the prestigious award.

Above: Dr. Kelly Cartwright and Dr. Margarita Marinova

Read time:

Dr. Kelly Cartwright and Dr. Margarita Marinova have been awarded the 2023 Outstanding Faculty Awards, presented by The State Council of Higher Education for Virginia (SCHEV) and Dominion Energy. The award recognizes faculty at Virginia’s institutions of higher learning who exemplify the highest standards of teaching, scholarship and service.

Cartwright is a professor of psychology, neuroscience and teacher preparation at Christopher Newport University. She is an award-winning teacher and mentor who engages students in and out of the classroom. Cartwright’s research, supported by nearly $3 million in federal funding, explores neurocognitive and affective factors that underlie reading comprehension processes and difficulties. Widely published in national and international scholarly outlets, her groundbreaking book, “Executive Skills and Reading Comprehension”(2015), forthcoming in a second edition (2023), is the first comprehensive text at this intersection. A leader in her field, she has served on the board of directors of the Literacy Research Association and as a visiting research fellow at the University of Oxford. Cartwright regularly works with K-12 teachers throughout the U.S. to understand and improve reading for struggling students, and these experiences inform her research.

“I am so humbled to be selected from among such stellar colleagues for this amazing award,” said Cartwright. “As the product of a Virginia education, I am deeply honored to be in the position to give back to the education systems that shaped my academic journey.”

Marinova is a professor of English and comparative literature. She has published five books: “Transnational Russian-American Travel Writing”; “Mikhail Bulgakov’s Don Quixote”; “Mikhail Bakhtin: The Duvakin Interviews”; “Russian Modernism in the Memories of Survivors”; and “The Art of Translation in Light of Bakhtinian Re-accentuation.” She has also published articles about Russian and Soviet literature and culture, Cervantes in Russia, contemporary Bulgarian literature, and travel studies in scholarly collections and journals such as the Slavic and East European Journal, Studies in Travel Writing,The Comparatist and Tulsa Studies in Women’s Literature.

“I am truly humbled by the news,” said Marinova. “And I am thrilled that I share the honor with such a remarkable colleague as Dr. Cartwright. It’s a great privilege to represent our University, and our wonderful faculty.”

Marinova and Cartwright were selected initially by a panel of peers who reviewed all nominations. A committee of leaders from the public and private sectors selected the final recipients.This year, there was a total of 74 nominations, which were narrowed to a field of 24 finalists and then to 12 recipients from various public and private Virginia universities and colleges. Marinova and Cartwright will each receive a $7,500 gift from the Dominion Energy Charitable Foundation at an in-person ceremony on March 7 in Richmond.

Back to top
quick edit report a problem